Loading...

The European Board of Cardiovascular Perfusion

VV ECMO Strategies for COVID-19, A Single Center Experience

Webinar banner 

VV ECMO Strategies for COVID-19, A Single Center Experience

Date: Wednesday, February 24, 2021
Time: 3:00 pm ET/2:00 pm CT/1:00 pm MT/12:00 pm PT

Duration: 75 minutes


Registration LINK


Overview: While the initial COVID surge in NYC brought many unexpected challenges, it also provided unique opportunity. The pandemic opened a window to explore the limits of medical therapy for a devastating disease, compelling many to test the limits of ECMO as a tool to help the sickest patients. Through team-work and dedication excellent outcomes can be achieved, and adoption of some of these practices may help the next wave of patients. Topics covered in this webinar to include patient selection and management, cannulation preference, extracorporeal circuit design, staffing models and personal protective equipment.


Speakers:

Zachary N. Kon, MD
Associate Professor of Cardiovascular and Thoracic Surgery, Donald and Barbara
Zucker School of Medicine at Hofstra/Northwell
Surgical Director of Advanced Heart Failure and Cardiac Transplantation, Northwell Health
Surgical Director of Advanced Lung Failure and Lung Transplantation, Northwell Health

Deane E. Smith, MD
Assistant Professor (Clinical) of Cardiothoracic Surgery
Surgical Director, Adult Extracorporeal Membrane Oxygenation Program
Associate Director, Thoracic Surgery Residency Program
New York University Langone Health

Fred Hill CCP, RN
Director of Extracorporeal Services
New York University Langone Health



Share this Post!